Race Report: Scott Dixon Victory at Ohio

OHIO (AUTOSPORT) – Scott Dixon extended his recent streak of success at Mid-Ohio to four wins from the past six years with victory for Ganassi in this weekend’s IndyCar race.

Dixon, who previously won at the track in 2007, 2009 and last year, took the lead from Will Power during the final pitstops and controlled the race from that point on, eventually crossing the finish line almost 3.5 seconds ahead of Penske driver Power.

The Australian had largely given up the chase in the final laps, and was instead preoccupied with making sure that he protected second place against a surging Simon Pagenaud.

Pagenaud closed the gap down, but Power was able to hold on to the position and recapture the points lead from Ryan Hunter-Reay, whose afternoon was marred by a litany of setbacks culminating in his engine losing power and dropping him to the back of the field. The Andretti team retired him with a few laps to go.

Dragon’s Sebastien Bourdais was fourth after a robust scrap with his compatriot for the final podium position, with James Hinchcliffe benefiting on going off-strategy early on to climb from 15th to fifth.

The Canadian also had a hand in Dario Franchitti’s afternoon turning sour. Franchitti had started on the front row and lost a couple of places during the first round of stops, but was still in touch with the leaders when Hinchcliffe rejoined directly ahead of him after his second stop. The pair made contact while fighting over fifth, damaging the Ganassi car’s front wing and dropping Franchitti out of contention.

For the second race in succession, the entire distance was covered under green flags, resulting in the first back-to-back caution-free races since 1987.

Results - 85 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                        Time/Gap
 1.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1h39m48.5083s
 2.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy           + 3.4619s
 3.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda          + 4.5402s
 4.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy           + 5.5822s
 5.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy         + 7.5663s
 6.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy              + 12.3280s
 7.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske Dallara-Chevy          + 27.9601s
 8.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy        + 28.1691s
 9.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy         + 29.2325s
10.  Alex Tagliani        Herta Dallara-Honda           + 31.1722s
11.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi Dallara-Honda         + 31.4387s
12.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda          + 32.0754s
13.  Takuma Sato          Rahal Dallara-Honda           + 32.4073s
14.  Giorgio Pantano      Ganassi Dallara-Honda         + 33.9166s
15.  Rubens Barrichello   KV Dallara-Chevy              + 35.2863s
16.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy          + 35.9205s
17.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda         + 36.9834s
18.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda           + 42.0974s
19.  James Jakes          Coyne Dallara-Honda           + 46.4304s
20.  EJ Viso              KV Dallara-Chevy              + 46.8068s
21.  Mike Conway          Foyt Dallara-Honda            + 46.9535s
22.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy          + 1 lap
23.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM Dallara-Lotus               + 2 laps
24.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy          + 6 laps
25.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy       + 7 laps
Pos ini dipublikasikan di Berita, Motorsport dan tag , , . Tandai permalink.